Coenen and Hagerstrom Named to WBCA Hall of Fame

The two leading scorers in Neenah High School girls basketball history will enter the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame together as Laura (Coenen) Ryan and Kathy Hagerstrom will both be inducted Sept. 24 in Wisconsin Dells.


They are among six girls players in this year's class, bringing the total number of girls players in the Hall of Fame to 31. Their former coach, Jean Kessler, was inducted in 1998. Former Neenah boys' coaches Ole Jorgensen, Doug Martin and Ron Einerson are all members of the Hall of Fame along with former boys' player Wayne Kreklow.

Coenen played from 1979-81 and totaled 1,036 points. She was a two-time FVA Player of the Year and led the Rockets to the WIAA state tournament in all three of her varsity seasons. Coenen was an inaugural inductee to the Neenah Joint School District Hall of Fame and is also a member of the University of Minnesota Hall of Fame. She graduated as Minnesota's all-time leading scorer and her 2,044 points still ranks fourth. Coenen was the Big Ten's first-ever Player of the Year in 1983 and had her number retired at Minnesota. Coenen went on to participate in three Olympics as a goalie for the USA Team Handball squad and is now an events manager for USA Cycling. She resides in Manitou Springs, Colo.

Hagerstrom is Neenah's all-time leading scorer with 1,219 points from 1975-79. She led the Rockets to the first three WIAA state tournaments and a state championship in 1978 when she earned state and FVA Player of the Year honors. She was a Parade All-American and three-time first-team All-FVA selection. Hagerstrom starred at the University of Nebraska where she finished her career as the school's all-time leading scorer and now ranks 10th in school history with 1,778 career points. She was an assistant coach for Central Missouri State University's 1984 NCAA Division II national championship team and then served 18 seasons as head coach at Wellesley College (Mass.), where she won a school-record 229 games and is currently the athletic department's Assistant Director of Operations.

The WBCA Hall of Fame banquet takes place Sept. 24 at the Wilderness Lodge in Wisconsin Dells. More information can be found here.

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.